1		
2		
3		
4		FILED CLERK, U.S. DISTRICT COURT
5		December 12, 2016
6		CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA BY: 2004 DEPUTY
7		
8	UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT	
9	CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA	
10		
11	IN THE MATTER OF	) GENERAL ORDER NO. 16-07
12	THE APPOINTMENT OF THE MERIT SELECTION PANEL	(Supersedes General Order No. 15-02)
13	MERIT SELECTION PANEL	_}
14	Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 631(b)(5) and the relevant standards and procedures	
15	promulgated by the Judicial Conference of the United States, the Court must appoi	

promulgated by the Judicial Conference of the United States, the Court must appoint a
Merit Selection Panel to assist the Court with the appointment and reappointment of
magistrate judges. The Court's current Merit Selection Panel was appointed on
October 21, 2013, by General Order No. 13-12. It is now necessary to reappoint or
extend the terms of members whose terms are set to expire on December 31, 2016 and
add new members.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that the following individuals be, and hereby
are, appointed to the Court's Merit Selection Panel for a three-year term beginning
January 1, 2017 and ending December 31, 2019: Anne Richardson, Samantha Grant,
Stephanie Yonekura, Mary Haas, and Kathryn Hoek to represent the Western
Division; and David Kaloyanides to represent the Eastern Division. These six
members shall be eligible for reappointment to the Merit Selection Panel for one
additional term of three years, at the discretion of the Court.

28

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Michael Yoder and Milli Borgarding, a non-1 lawyer public member, shall be reappointed to serve an additional three-year term beginning on January 1, 2017 and ending on December 31, 2019. Mr. Yoder and Ms. Borgarding shall not be eligible for reappointment. Moreover, Helen Zukin's term 4 shall be extended for an additional three years, beginning on January 1, 2017 and 5 ending on December 31, 2019, although she has served two terms.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that, due to the pending recruitment to fill the 7 Magistrate Judge vacancy in the Eastern Division, the terms of the following members shall be extended: Ingrid Eagly, John C. Hueston, Peter J. Most, Dominique Shelton, Mona C. Soo Hoo, and Lawrence B. Steinberg. The extension for these six members shall be effective beginning January 1, 2017 and conclude immediately upon submission of the Panel's recommendation to the Magistrate Judges Committee, unless further extended by the Court.

The Merit Selection Panel's full membership is set forth in Attachment A to this General Order. Panel members have received written notice of the restrictions set forth in the Guide to Judiciary Policy, Chapter 4, Section 420.30.20(d).

This General Order shall become effective upon filing by the Clerk of this Court.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Kigmin a. Phillip

CHIEF UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

Date of Approval by the Court:

December 9, 2016

Date of Filing by the Clerk:

December 12, 2016

2

3

6

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

## Attachment A to General Order No. 16-07 CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA MERIT SELECTION PANEL December 9, 2016

Name	Date Current Term Expires
Helen Zukin, Chair*	12/31/2019
Michael G. Yoder, Vice Chair*	12/31/2019
Fernando L. Aenlle-Rocha*	12/31/2017
Yolanda Barrera*	12/31/2017
Milli Borgarding (non-attorney)	12/31/2019
Mark T. Drooks*	12/31/2017
Ingrid V. Eagly*	1/30/2017**
Matthew A. Hodel*	12/31/2017
John W. Holcomb*	12/31/2017
John C. Hueston*	1/30/2017**
Peter J. Most*	1/30/2017**
Sandra C. Munoz*	12/31/2017
Dominique R. Shelton*	1/30/2017**
Dianne Baquet Smith*	12/31/2017
Mona C. Soo Hoo*	1/30/2017**
Lawrence B. Steinberg*	1/30/2017**
Michael A. Tomasulo*	12/31/2017
James Newton (non-attorney)	12/31/2017
Anne Richardson	12/31/2019
Samantha Grant	12/31/2019
Stephanie Yonekura	12/31/2019
Mary Haas	12/31/2019
Kathryn Hoek	12/31/2019
David Kaloyanides	12/31/2019

\* Returning member not eligible for reappointment at expiration of term shown above \*\* Term extended to complete Eastern Division recruitment and expires upon submission of report to the Magistrate Judges Committee on or about January 30, 2017, unless extended by the Court.